Great Start 4 Kids

Upcoming Events
   GREAT START DIRECTOR​
   Barb Reisner
   
greatstart@barbreisner.us
   906-396-9546

  

In Michigan, every child has an equal opportunity to succeed in school and in life!  The Dickinson-Iron Great Start mottos:               IT IS ALL ABOUT THE CHILDREN!   ONCE A READER, ALWAYS A READER!  TOGETHER WE ACHIEVE MORE!
Jonathan Ringle   PARENT COORDINATOR
   Jonathan Ringel
   
jonathan.ringel@frontier.com
   906-774-4076

   

In Michigan, parents are shining stars!  Parents are children's first and most important teachers!  Great Start empowers parents and prioritizes parent leadership.  The Dickinson-Iron Great Start leaders believe in THE PARENT VOICE!

 
HAPPENINGS


 



GET READY FOR 2017 GREAT START 100
CHECK OUT 2016 CONTRIBUTORS –
Contribution Cards Available March 1st.

2016 GREAT START 100

















 
NEWS FLASH
Pregnant women often have a misconception regarding the effect marijuana smoking has on their newborn.  THC, the active ingredient in marijuana can cross the placenta and reach the fetus!  There is a belief that marijuana is safe without scientific backing.  (The New York Times, 2/3/17)
 
  • For information on DCCAN:  Sherri Petschar @ 715-251-4541
  • Vision:  to create a collaborative to enhance college readiness
  • Mission # 1:  to provide services to support students
  • Mission # 2:  to connect students with college readiness info.
  • Goal # 1:  to increase reading proficiency by end of grade 3
  • Goal # 2:  to help prepare students for college/career opportunities
 
  • Define:  Smoke that lingers on surfaces
  • Thirdhand Smoke on clothing, furniture, carpets, walls...
  • Children vulnerable when crawl on floors, fingers in mouth...
  • Children exposed face 2X risk of getting COPD later in life
  • SOLUTION:  Create smokefree environments for family
 
 
  • Brush your child's teeth after feeding and at bedtime
  • Do not share food, drinks, forks, spoons or toothbrushes
  • Use FLUORIDE to stop children's tooth decay 
  • Feed children healthy foods:  fruits, vegis, milk, yogurt...
  • No bottle when bedtime - water only, no sugar!
  • Baby has 20 little teeth - wipe off germs before bedtime 
  • Healthy FOOD = Healthy TEETH
 
EARLY CHILDHOOD PROGRAM CONTACTS 
Barb Reisner - Great Start:  greatstart@barbreisner.us
Jonathan Ringel - GS Parents:  jonathan.ringel@frontier.com
Deb Dupras - Child Care:  ddupras@4c-up.com
Debbie Beauchamp - DIISD:  dbeauchamp@diisd.org
Casey McCormick - Early Childhood:  cmccormick@diisd.org
Cherie Fila - Early On:  cfila@norwaymi.com
Maria Johns - Imagination Library:  mjohns@diisd.org
Jennifer McCarty - Northpointe:  JMccarty@NBHS.Org
Ruth Holmes - Health Deparment:  rholmes@hline.org
John Estes - Braumart Theatre:  johnestes0611@gmail.com
ECIC - Early Childhood:  MChenier@ecic4kids.org
MDE - Office of Great Start
 
 
 

Copyright 2011 Dickinson-Iron Great Start Collaborative | info@greatstart4kids.org