NEWSFLASH

MARIJUANA AND PREGNANCY
Pregnant women often have a misconception regarding the effect marijuana smoking has on newborns.  THC, the active ingredient in marijuana can cross the placenta and reach the fetus!  There still exists a misinterpretation that marijuana is safe without scientific backing.
(The New York Times, 2/3/17)

THIRD HAND SMOKE
Third Hand Smoke is smoke that lingers on surfaces; such as clothing, furniture, carpets, walls, etc. Children are vulnerable to third hand smoke by crawling on floors, putting fingers in mouth, laying on furniture, etc. Children exposed to third hand smoke face two times the risk of getting respiratory health issues later in life. Please create smoke-free environments for your family!

PEDIATRIC DENTAL CARE
Brush your child’s teeth after feeding and at bedtime and prevent children from sharing food, drinks, forks, spoons or toothbrushes with others.  FLUORIDE can also help stop children’s tooth decay.  Feed children healthy foods; such as fruits, vegetables, milk, yogurt, etc.  Remember:  No bottle at bedtime; children need to drink water only, no sugar drinks like apple juice!
Baby has 20 little teeth so wipe off germs before bedtime.  Lastly, it is never too early to bring young children to the dentist.  Reminder:  Dickinson County has a pediatric dentist at Northwoods Pediatric Dentistry.

DR. KAYLYNN SAIGH

HEALTHY FOOD = HEALTHY TEETH!

EARLY CHILDHOOD & GREAT START CONTACTS

Barb Reisner – Great Start Collaborative
greatstart@barbreisner.us

Jonathan Ringel – Great Start Parent Coalition jonathan.ringel@frontier.com

Casey McCormick – DIISD Director of Early Childhood  cmccormick@diisd.org

Deb Dupras – Great Start to Quality
ddupras@4c-up.com

Debbie Beauchamp – DIISD Administrative Assistant   dbeauchamp@diisd.org

Cherie Fila – Early On, LICC, Health Department   cfila@norwaymi.com

Polly Luoma – Dept of Health and Human Services  Dickinson County:  luomap@michigan.gov

Stephen Stutz – Dept of Health and Human Services
Iron County:  StutzS@michigan.gov

Maria Johns – Imagination Library
mjohns@diisd.org

Jennifer McCarty – Northpointe
JMccarty@NBHS.Org

Ruth Holmes – Health Department
rholmes@hline.org

Trisha Peterson – IM-K Kiwanis Club
peterson.trisha@gmail.com

Michele Chenier – Early Childhood Investment
MChenier@ecic4kids.org

Office Of Great Start
MI Department of Education

 

Posted in

Copyright® 2017 Dickinson Iron Great Start